Calling To Say Thank You

January 14, 2009

The day after I finished reading The Go-Giver, I called John Woodhead to express my sincere thanks for suggesting the book.  He was delighted to hear it had impacted me so strongly and invited me to a networking get together later that evening.  Now, I’ve never been a big bar patron, but the opportunity to meet and great people associated with John was more than I could pass up.

The group met at a nice little place in Clayton called Roxanes.  While there I met several people who I am still communicating with.  One of the is Robyn Obermoeller who started Hope Campaign.  Robyn’s concept for Hope Campaign is inspiring and our discussions about building Hope Campaign grew into talks me coming on board to help her develop the idea to fruition.  In the end, the timing was not right on either end.  I was happy to share my thoughts with Robyn and some contacts that will hopefully be valuable as she continues to build Hope Campaign.  By the way, if you are in the market for real estate in the St. Louis area take a look at Hope Campaign.

At the networking meeting I was also able to meet with John again and his wife, Kelly.  He introduced me to several people and I took some time to observe the group.  Watching people interact and learning from how others introduce themselves and their associates.  As I might have noted previously, networking for me has been a business venture.  Dollars tied to each connection.  That is not the approach needed for Go-Giver so I find myself re-learning some relatively basic things.

The good news is, this re-learning is really a return to natural communication away from manipulative communication.  As a recruiter, I was taught to get the referral by virtually any means necessary.  In many models I tried it quickly became a pushy sales guy approach because of the lack of trust developed within the relationships.  Just think, after 3 minute conversation I’m asking you to give me names and numbers of people I should talk to about a job.  During that 3 minutes I might not have listened to you for more than 30 seconds.  It sound crazy I know, but that is the standard method.  Also, as I met new people here at Roxane’s I again realized that despite my personal leanings towards the introverted I need people surrounding me to do good work.

In closing this post I’d like to say Thanks to John Woodhead one more time.

I would also like to ask you, as the reader, where do you need to challenge yourself to make some changes?
What keeping your from being a Go-Giver?
What are you waiting for?
Why do you expect different results from the same old processes?
Who do you need to call just to say “thank you?”

Leave a Reply

