Next Chapter in My Story – Meeting a Guru

January 20, 2009

To play a little catch up here, Kevin Pannebecker overheard Greg Younger and I talking about The Go-Giver and a local coach  consultant who’d been asked to design the coaching program for the material.  Kevin, being the go-giving connector he is, introduced Greg and I to Dixie Gillaspie and arranged for us to meet.

I don’t know about you but I have a tendency to be a little bit nervous when I’m meeting a guru.  It just doesn’t happen that often I guess.  Meeting someone who’s so profoundly connected to the concepts that have started to take over my mind.  It’s a bit intimidating.

This reminds me of a point I should be talking about.  In The Go-Giver, the main character, Joe, makes a statement to Pindar, the guru, about his surprise that Pindar is willing to meet with him and share so much.  Pindar’s response is to tell Joe that it is common practice among extremely successful people to give of their time when asked to mentor.  At first glance, this is one point I really doubted.  Then again, how many times had I asked to be mentored?  None, I assumed (we all know what that does) that people wouldn’t have time.

Moral: Respect people enough to let them manage their own time.  Don’t assume for them.

Dixie is one of the most approachable people I’ve met.  I think it comes from the following of the Law of Authenticity.  There is no pretense or judgment, just Dixie being herself.

As we chat, each of us shares a bit about ourselves and what’s brought us all to this table. The interconnectedness is astounding and definitely worthy of conversation.  That we are all here to learn how we can help one anther there is a race the magic networking questions: “How will I know when I’m talking to someone I should connect you with?”  Greg gets there first to the astonishment of Dixie, who’s obviously accustomed to leading the giving parade.

Dixie’s response is interesting, she needs to connect with diverse groups who would like to learn The Go-Giver model in a series of presentations / coaching sessions.  At that point, the modules are in place and she’s really working on putting them in front of people who will challenge them before moving on to training other coaches.  In addition, she’s always interested in meeting people who’ve read The Go-Giver and are willing to share their reaction.

For me this is almost a water shed moment.  I am fortunate enough to know some people who really might be good contacts for Dixie.  I mention an a lawyer in Chicago I’d met through my recruiting practice, Scott Becker.  Scott is one of the best networkers I’ve ever seen in action.  He knows everyone within a specific segment of the health care market and EVERYONE knows, and respects him.

Dixie’s insights into my career search have proven to be invaluable, both in terms of my perspective and the view others are given.  Perspective makes all the difference.

I run home as quickly as I can to introduce Scott to Dixie.  (Okay I drove but you’ll have to wait until next time for the rest of the story…)

Who have you always wanted to meet but never taken the chance?
What long lost member of your network should you be connecting with a new contact?
When is you next appointment with someone you admire?
Where do you love to meet people?
How do you maintain information about your network connections?

One Response to “Next Chapter in My Story – Meeting a Guru”


  1. […] them in more than one form of communication. Let me explain further by continuing my story from the Meeting a Guru post. I ran home to connect Scott Becker and Dixie […]


Leave a Reply

